Reinvestment

Natalie Goldberg, author of Writing Down the Bones, the book on how to maintain a writing life, once said, “Nobody cares much whether you write or not. You just have to do it.”  Her words, fittingly, seem perfect for describing the act of writing a blog. Ultimately you write, even though no one cares if you do it.  Your words float out on internet ether. The readers, if there are any, are invisible to you. There is safety in that anonymity. And, unfortunately, I find for myself there is also little accountability.

And so, I find I have to reinvest. I have to reinvest in writing regularly. Because it is good practice, because it in fact doesn’t matter if it is being read. That is what makes it a good place to work on developing a voice, playing with ideas, and working on structure. So, I am borrowing from Ms. Goldberg:

“My goal is to write every day. I say it is my ideal. I am careful not to pass judgment or create anxiety if I do not do it. No one lives up to [her] ideal.”

It doesn’t have to be every day, but I think I must reinvest in the practice of writing. In the discipline of making observations and capturing the thoughts and questions those observations raise about the world.

So here we go.

Leave a Reply

