Shani Davis Takes Gold

 

Olympian Shani Davis

Davis is quoted as having said, “I’ve lived 27 years of my life and I have self worth and I know what I am as a person. I don’t need anyone to define that for me if they’re paying attention to me once every four years, or just these two weeks of the Olympics. I already have my self-definition, and I’m quite happy with it.”

Learn more about Shani Davis on his website. I admit, I don’t know much (read, anything) about this sport, but there is a beauty in watching speed skating. I also find it interesting the way that Davis is treated in the media and by the press in juxtaposition to other Olympians.

Leave a Reply

